FIFA speaks about Ronaldo's controversial penalty against Ghana

FIFA's expert World Cup analysts said that Cristiano Ronaldo's penalty win for Portugal in their 3-2 win over Ghana at the 2022 World Cup was a "stroke of genius."

On Thursday, Ronaldo scored at his fifth World Cup. He was the first man to do so.

The 37-year-old scored a controversial penalty after the referee ruled that Ghana defender Mohammed Salisu pushed him to the ground.

After the game, Ghana's coach, Otto Addo, said it was a "special gift" for Portugal.

In a press conference in Doha, Qatar, FIFA's Technical Study Group (TSG) said that this year's World Cup is on track to have a record number of penalties.

"Perhaps the strikers are learning?

Faryd Mondragon, a former Colombian goalkeeper and TSG panel member, said, "If you look at the penalty that Ronaldo got, people can say whatever they want about him, but the smarts and brilliance of waiting for that split second to touch the ball before you and keeping my leg out so that your touch will hit my leg, that is pure genius."

In the first 16 games, nine penalties have been given out.

At this rate, the World Cup is on track to set a new record for most goals scored in a tournament with 64 games.


Post a Comment


Close Menu