Ministers are prohibited from traveling abroad.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has, with immediate effect, banned all ministers and their deputies from travelling outside the country for the coming one month.

The Director of Communications at the Presidency, Mr Eugene Bentum Arhin, who verified the directive, didn't give details. 

Other sources told the Daily Graphic that the only exception to the directive was exigency medical condition that needed outdoors attention.

Government business Although Mr Arhin did didn't assign any reason for the ban, governance judges believe the move is to insure that government business, especially issues about the 2022 Budget presently before Parliament, is resolved without a hitch.   

 Just like the previous ban issued on June 21, 2018, all ministers and deputy ministers seeking to travel with compelling reasons must seek the express, previous and written blessing from the Chief of Staff at the Office of the President, Mrs Akosua Frema Osei-Opare.   

Former directive  On June 21, 2018, President Akufo-Addo directed the temporary suspense of all foreign peregrination by ministers, deputy ministers, metropolitan, external and quarter principal directors (MMDCEs) and heads of government agencies.

The statement publicizing that suspense said guidelines in respect of unborn foreign peregrination aimed at minimising dislocation to government's domestic work were to be communicated shortly.  

 Inked by the Chief of Staff, the statement said the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration was, still, exempted from that temporary ban on foreign peregrination. 

Source: Graphic Ghana

Post a Comment


Close Menu